A steering committee of Washington University in St. Louis academic leaders oversee the Academy’s programs and act as the admissions committee.

The director of the Academy serves as committee chair, and the committee includes a representative from each of the university’s graduate and professional divisions.

Steering Committee Members

As of May 1, 2015

James V. Wertsch
David R. Francis Distinguished Professor; Chair, Director McDonnell International Scholars Academy; Vice Chancellor for International Affairs

Jean Allman
J.H. Hexter Professor in the Humanities, Arts & Sciences
Director, Center for the Humanities

Pratim Biswas
Lucy and Stanley Lopata Professor; Chair, Department of Energy, Environmental & Chemical Engineering, School of Engineering & Applied Science; Director, McDonnell Academy Global Energy & Environment Partnership (MAGEEP); Assistant Vice Chancellor for International Affairs-India

Lingchei Letty Chen
Associate Professor of Modern Chinese Language & Literature; Head of Chinese, Arts & Sciences

Kurt T. Dirks
Senior Associate Dean-Programs and Bank of America Professor of Managerial Leadership

Gerald L. Early
Merle Kling Professor of Modern Letters; Professor, Department of English
Director, African and African-American Studies, Arts & Sciences

Peter A. Joy
Vice Dean and Henry Hitchcock Professor of Law
School of Law; Director Criminal Justice Clinic

Bruce M. Lindsey
E. Desmond Lee Professor for Community Collaboration; Dean of College of Architecture and the Graduate School of Architecture & Urban Design; Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts